Part III- PARIS

Posted on October 12, 2008

0


Evening Lads and Lassies,

What a crazy night this has been already! I need to crack open a bottle of red to get through this post. It’s like I’m reliving this all over again.

Last post, I left off with the agonizing tale of my departure from John-Pierre as he told me we would soon see each other again. He was right, because I had made up my mind before he left that I was going to PARIS.

That’s right, like the Mighty Mos spit “I’m a Travelin (Wo) Man”

As an aspiring fashion designer newly enrolled at Parsons School of Design, I had been in LOVE with Paris even before I met the Frenchie. But after the Frenchie, it was done, I KNEW I had to go!

PARIS, the birthplace of FASHION and the birth place of the man I was madly in love with, you couldn’t tell me twice, I WAS THERE. I had applied to Parsons Paris and I was scrapping all my dollars together for that insane tuition. Even back the Euro was kicking the Dollars azz.

 I had in my heart that I was going to kill two birds with one smooth beautiful stone, and foster my fashion dreams and FINALLY grow some cojones and tell John-Pierre that I loved him. I boarded a flight on AIR FRANCE as my heart was filled with so much anticipation! First of all, to be back in the arms of JOHN- PIERRE???????? (and I was staying with him at his apartment!) How did I not spontaneously combust upon impact? Then going to PARIS for the first time? I hadn’t really been outside of the U.S, except for Ghana, West Africa where both of my parents hail from. I was a wee child then, so I don’t count that experience so much. This was HUGE for me!

This is exactly how I felt my first steps in PARIS! It was like a feeling like no other

It’s simply BREATHTAKING! It was a sensory OVERLOAD!

The visual aesthetic of the architecture =beautiful!

The fashion= AMAZING

The food= OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!!

 

The people= WERE THE FRIENDLIEST, MOST WARM and open people I have ever met!

I didn’t want to leave!

I never want to forget the memory of jumping on the back of John-Pierre’s scooter, holding onto him for dear life! When we were at a red light, he would give me a quick squeeze with his legs. As we rode along the River Seine in the black Paris sky, I remember exactly what I thought at that moment. “THANK YOU JESUS!” Yes that’s right I brought the Lawd into it! I just couldn’t believe that I was there! ME, little, ole Nana-Adwoa from Amherst, Massachusetts, was in PARIS FRANCE!

I was BURSTIN!!!!!!!!!!!!

John-Pierre treated me like gold! He would surprise me with fresh coffee and crossiants in the morning, cute candelight dinners, He showed me the “real Paris” not the Traveler’s Guide. I went to so many amazing spots that only the locals knew about. Jazz clubs, amazing cafes, I remembering thinking to myself “is this how Langston Hughes, Eartha Kitt, and James Baldwin felt.” I almost felt like a reincarnate at times.

After a couple of weeks, I felt like it was my home. I tried to make the days as long as I could, but they went by so fast. With the amazing and wonderful time that I had, I STILL, COULD NOT tell John-Pierre that I loved him? WHAT THE HELL WAS WRONG WITH ME? I knew it was going to have to be me, to be the one to put it out there. I knew he knew though, but it’s not the same. Something very important manifests when the emotions are said out loud and of course recipricated. Someone had to cast the first stone, and I knew that JP was way “to cool for school” to be the first one. There were so many beautiful moments, where I could have pulled him aside and just said it. I was like a deer in headlights, I just couldn’t do it.

 When it was time to go, my heart felt like it was going to break into a million pieces inside my chest. John-Pierre was so hurt all he could do was try to shut me out. I couldn’t understand then why he was so distant and almost cold to me on the last day, but retrospectivley I totally get it. Boarding the plane back to NYC was one of the hardest things I had to do.

I SWORE to myself that I would be back in a couple months to solidify my entrance at Parsons, and SWORE I that I could be back to PROCLAIM my LOVE for JOHN PIERRE!

I cried the WHOLE six hour flight back to New York City! I cried so much that I made myself sick.

I did go back to Paris a couple weeks later. I did everything I possibly could to make Parsons Paris happen. At the end of the day, I just couldn’t pull together enough for the tuition. When JP asked if I would be attending school in the fall, I just couldn’t bare to tell him that it wasn’t going to happen. He was soon to figure it out, and when he did it’s like I saw him shut himself off. Neither one of us was interested in the joke a transcontinental relationship is! I still hadn’t told him that I loved him, but at that point, I felt like it would be in vain….

And this is the part where you think the story ends right????????????

YOU SOOOOOOO WRONG!!!

Stay Tuned for the Fourth and Final part to the Weblog Romantic Drama……

Until then……..

Pleasant Dreams*

 

Night Night

