Smells Like Copyright Infringement…. ColdPlay: Get Ready to COUGH UP THE $$$$$

Posted on December 10, 2008

1


 

A kwana lafiya

(Good Evening in Hausa dialect in Nigeria)

 

My people, My People What’s Good this evening? I’m in such a FANTASTIC mood tonight!! I wanted to bring you something JUICY, and here it is! Now I have an eclectic taste in music! I love everything from old school hip-hop like EPMD to R&B like Rhianna and Mary J, all the way to Luciano Pavarotti! It’s real like that! One of my favorite bands is ColdPlay. I remember when I was in college and I first heard their song “Yellow” and watched the video!.I totally FELL  for that that quirky, funny looking blond walking backwards on the beach. 

 

chris-martin-hannah-montana      Chris has come a loooong way since “Yellow” so much of that has to do with………………………………………………………………………………………………..

gwyneth-paltrow_1THIS WOMAN!! Thanks for whipping him into shape!

BUT My girl Gwen can’t do everything for her man! The new buzz is that Coldplay is in a little bit of trouble…. Seems like there hit song “Viva la Vida” which is blazzing on the charts and is up for a couple of Grammy nominations is a copy of legendary electric guitar virtuoso Joe Satriani’s 1994 hit “If I could Fly”. Satriani is suing Coldplay! According to Rolling Stone magazine Satriani filed a copyright infringement suit against the band in Los Angeles on December 4th, accusing Coldplay of stealing “substantial original portions.” The Satch is seeking a jury trial, damages and “any and all profits attributable to the alleged copyright infringement.” 

Considering that “Viva La Vida” was one of the biggest hits of the year, and one of the biggest selling singles on Itunes, Satriani stands to WIN MAJOR $$$$$$$$! His lawyers have to prove that Coldplay heard his song though. I’m not sure how the hell they are going to do that.. but listen for yourselves the hook sounds EXACTLY the same!

Come on Coldplay! If you are going to jack another musicians  work, you’ve got to PAY the piper. You can’t Vanilla Ice it now…. That’s just totally lame. Coldplay’s management has not made any comment as of yet. It’s an open and shut case in my opinion!

THROW the book at them! 

SHAME ON YOU CHRIS!!

AND this is not the first time they have been accused of stealing someonelse’s stuff!

In the words of NeNe from Housewives….

ivy celebs 5 220708HOW SMALL OF YOU!!!!!

I’ll keep you posted on the latest developments as I learn them kids…

Night Night

 

 

 

Posted in: 1