Watch out BEYONCE, Sounds Like Etta James Wants to Smack You Down!!!

Posted on February 6, 2009

7


Evening Y’all

I feel like it has been YEARS since I’ve been on Nightly Candy! Oh how could I fore sake thee?? Please, please forgive me! I can’t even get into what’s been going on in my world! Basically after the magnetic and electrifying election of our President, I fell off the radar! It took me a little while to recover from all of the Inaugural parties, then there was a death in the family, but you know.. life goes on.. and SO does Nightly Candy!! I just needed something to come along and inspire me. Well after catching some superficial celebrity gossip television, I found just the thing to spark these fingers to get a typing!

It’s not news to any of my regular readers that I can’t stand Beyonce as an artist. Apparently neither can Etta James!

6a00d83451ba0b69e200e54ff527ec8833-800wi3

At a concert last week Etta James went off on Beyonce and the fact that she sang “At Last” at one of the 10 inaugural balls.  This is exactly how it went down..

 

I tell you that woman he had singing for him, singing my song, she gonna get her ass whupped,” sarcastically calling her “The great Beyoncé.”

“I can’t stand Beyoncé… [she] had no business … singing my song that I been singing forever.”

 Sounded like Etta was also lashing out at President Obama as well. “You know your President, right? You know the one with the big ears? He ain’t my President.”  Etta spoke with a whole lot of tude to boot!

 

 

OUCH!!!

High Five to Etta James! Although from the sounds of it, she was probably hopped up on some meds.  Hey.. in my opinion a musical great such as Etta James can speak her mind freely. This woman is an icon who has contributed greatly to society. In essence, there would be NO Beyonce if it were not for Etta James.  In my opinion if Etta was not well enough to attend the ball, Obama’s camp should have picked another legendary singer who has made significant and substantial strides in music. Choosing an artist like Diana Ross,  or perhaps another popular singer from the Motown era would have been appropriate. The parallel with such comparable singers who broke color barriers, and Obama’s feat as the first Africa-American president would have been really cool. But could-a- would-a should-a. Etta James felt like it was a slap in the face, and she had every right to say what she said. 

Watch out Beyonce! I would be a little scuuuuured. Etta maybe twice your age, but she’s from the old school. I am sure she could open up a serious can of woop ass on ya. I pray TMZ is there with cameras to catch that one!

Ahhh.. it feels good to be back! 

More tomorrow night from this Candy girl! 

Night Night

