The Day the Music Died: Rest in Peace Michael Jackson

Posted on June 26, 2009

7


michael_jacksonMichael Jackson  (August 29, 1958 – June 25, 2009)

 I was running around the city yesterday like a woman on a mission.

My battery was hanging by a thread with 10% battery power left by mid-afternoon . Although I was so low on battery juice I was still able to receive a text from my friend Pauline. 

“Michael Jackson is dead”.

I turned to my sister and screamed “What!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

We both stopped in our tracks on the corner of 14th and 6th avenue. We had our mouths wide open in shock for a little bit. 
 As crazy as it was to register  that the most talented and influential man in music had just died I could not believe that just the night before I had been engaged in a great conversation about him.

I’ll never forget it. I was celebrating my birthday in Greenwich Village. Amongst the  birthday banter  Michael Jackson was a topic of discussion.  My friend Akilah had brought him up initially. She was SO EXCITED because she had climbed through a needle and a haystack to get tickets for the London concert. My friend Daniel talked about how his first concert EVER was  Michael Jackson in Denmark with his father. Even though he was three or four years old he revered his memory of Michael as one of the best events of his life. I remember taking the time to think about how much I loved Michael Jackson’s music. I remember saying that night “I could make a mix-tape to the soundtrack of my life ALL to Michael’s music and we’d be dancing until dawn.” 

The afternoon that the news of his death broke there was earie  energy present that was reminicisnet of  9-11. EVERYONE in the street was talking. When I mean EVERYONE,  According to AT &T when the news of Michael’s death hit there were approxiamatley 65,000 texts sent PER SECOND. That is the kind of impact Michael Jackson had on the world.  Within minutes of his passing New York’s Times Square and the Apollo Theater in Harlem were filled with  Jackson fans and more importantly his MUSIC. It ‘s mind-boggling how many lives MJ has touched. From every major metropolis to the tiniest hut in the smallest village it would be a difficult and daunting task to find ANYONE who could say they had never been impacted by his music.

Michael Jackson’s contributions to the world are unprecedented and it is my estimation that no one will ever come CLOSE to superseding him. Although he was an incredibly talented his life story is one of  the most tragic and saddest stories ever told. We will never be able to truly understand the mind of a man who had carried the excruixiating lonliness, abuse, and pain of his childhood in his heart until his dying day.

In an interview with Martin Bashir that aired on October 7, 2007 Michael Jackson said that if anyone wanted to know the real MJ all they had to do was to listen to the words of his song “Childhood”.

Written and Composed by Michael Jackson.
Produced by Michael Jackson.

Have you seen my Childhood?
I’m searching for the world that I come from
‘Cause I’ve been looking around
In the lost and found of my heart…
No one understands me
They view it as such strange eccentricities…
‘Cause I keep kidding around
Like a child, but pardon me…

People say I’m not okay
‘Cause I love such elementary things…
It’s been my fate to compensate,
for the Childhood
I’ve never known…

Have you seen my Childhood?
I’m searching for that wonder in my youth
Like pirates in adventurous dreams,
Of conquest and kings on the throne…

Before you judge me, try hard to love me,
Look within your heart then ask,
Have you seen my Childhood?

People say I’m strange that way

 

 

‘Cause I love such elementary things,
It’s been my fate to compensate,
for the Childhood (Childhood) I’ve never known…

Have you seen my Childhood?
I’m searching for that wonder in my youth
Like fantastical stories to share
But the dreams I would dare, watch me fly..

 

 

Before you judge me, try hard to love me.
The painful youth I’ve had

Every Michael Jackson song is amazing but this song was something special because it was the only song he had written (that has been released) that depicted Michael’s feelings and emotions. Jackson never wrote such a candid and open song that was a true reflection of himself. It was clear that he was a very tortured soul who was constantly trying to numb his pain.  Jackson’s attorney Brian Oxman made a statement yesterday declaring that he believes that Jackson abused prescription drugs and was enabled by people close to him. It has been rumored that Jackson started abusing pain killers after the infamous 1988 Pepsi commercial that left the singer with intense injuries and serious burns. In addition to the painkillers it also is not a secret that MJ had serious issues with his psychical appearance. It is almost incomprehensible to believe that the young and extremely handsome Michael Jackson in the video “Don’t Stop Until You Get Enough” is the same frightening ghost of a man whose mug shot was plastered all over the media. 

There are still so many unanswered questions. Michael Jackson has not even been buried yet but conspiracy theorists have already wrote extensively on their suspicions that MJ’s death was planned.  Jackson stood to rake in over 400 Million dollars for the London show.  It would take an extremely grounded and emotionally stable individual to be able to deal with that kind of pressure. Last month Michael had postponed the London tour dates.  Perhaps he fell to the immense pressure and chose to bow out on his own terms? Perhaps Michael saw death as the only way out? Whether his death was the result of natural causes or an intentional overdose his fate is sealed as the most famous person that ever lived. With this esteemed title his name and royalties will continue to multiply.

Although there are many things we can learn from the life and death of Jackson. The most important aspect for me is: wealth, and riches can NEVER replace the power of unconditional love. 

 

MJ you will be truly missed!

I am so happy that I grew up on your music and can say that I’ve been a fan from the the first time I heard The Michael Jackson 5!

 

REST in PEACE

 


 

 

 

Posted in: Rest In Peace