Danke Schoen: Thanks For the Flicks John Hughes

Posted on August 8, 2009

0


S W E E T I E S

2009 sure has been a sad one in entertainment news.

We have lost an abundance of talent and unfortunately John Hughes has recently been added to the list.

John Hughes died on Thursday August 6 , 2009 as he went for a morning stroll in Manhattan.  His publicist confirmed that Hughes had succumbed to a heart attack.

John Hughes wasn’t much for the spotlight and the flashing lights. He rarely gave interviews. He didn’t have to because his work spoke for itself. As a kid who fell in love with film in the 80’s John Hughes flicks were a big inspiration to me.

EVERY SINGLE Saturday morning during my days of boarding school at Northfield Mount Hermon I would wake up to a gaggle of giggling girls watching “The Breakfast Club” in the dorm. At first I could not fathom WHY these young ladies were obsessed with this particular film. From a glance it just looked like a bunch of white kids who weren’t interesting at all. I didn’t get what the fuss was about.  It wasn’t until I was literally was forced to sit down and watch it  that I realized and understood  why these young ladies identified and loved that movie so much. John Hughes had an amazing way of capturing teenage angst, coming of age, and rebellion against conformity unlike any other director.

I was an instant fan of his movies after I watched “The Breakfast Club”, and soon “Sixteen Candles“,”Ferris Bueller’s Day Off“, and “Pretty in Pink” quickly became some of my favorite flicks of all time.

Some of the Highlights from Ferris Buller’s Day Off!

Molly Ringwald became one of my film heroines.

molly ringwald

Although she clearly is far from black I still identified with her characters because she always played the quirky, smart girl, who stood out as being different with her red-hair and freckles but triumphed over all in the end. My heart still melts over the scene in  “Sixteen Candles” when Samantha Baker FINALLY kisses Jake Ryan!

sixteen-candles-400ds0629

John Hughes most definitely influenced most filmmakers who were 80’s kids. Hughes was also responsible for giving a host of young talent their first big breaks.

Anthony Michael Hall, Ally Sheedy, Macaulay Culkin, John Cusack (“Sixteen Candles”), Judd Nelson (“The Breakfast Club”), Steve Carell (“Curly Sue”) and Lili Taylor (“She’s Having a Baby”) are just among a few actors who are can attribute their acting debuts to John Hughes.  Matthew Broderick made this statement to the press regarding the passing of John Hughes “I am truly shocked and saddened by the news about my old friend John Hughes. He was a wonderful, very talented guy and my heart goes out to his family.”

It’s unfortunate that this culture waits until someone has expired until we recognize just how valuable their contributions were.  John Hughes was only 59 years old. Another one gone way to soon.

Danke Schoen!!

Thank you for the flicks John!

John Hughes 01

Your work lives on and will continue to inspire the teenager in all of us.

Rest in Peace

Posted in: Rest In Peace