Let’s Say A Little Prayer For Maia!

Posted on September 3, 2009

5


S W E E T I E S

When I saw this video this morning of Maia Campbell my jaw hit the floor in utter disbelief.

At first I wanted to convince myself that this was all a scene from an upcoming John Singelton film or something but I knew even he couldn’t stoop that low for a comeback film.

Dear sweet Lord have mercy on this child.

maia campbell before crackMaia Campbell as I remember her

Maia has totally lost in LA.

She reportedly is hooked on crack and whoring herself out to low-lifes who are exploiting her for YouTube hits. She apparently was unable to deal with the death of her mother Bebe Moore Campbell.

Bebe Moore CampbellFebruary 18, 1950, PhiladelphiaNovember 27, 2006

Bebe Moore Campbell was an accomplished author of such novels as Brothers and SistersSinging in the Comeback Choir, and What You Owe Me, which was also a Los Angeles Times “Best Book of 2001. Bebe Moore Campbell died of brain cancer in 2006 at the young age of 56. What a devastating loss this was for the literaty world. I can’t even fathom the pain and void Maia and her family must feel.

Maia went from a television/film actress on the rise to the sad shell of a human being seen in this horrifying video.

She not only needs to get help for herself but she has a daughter as well.

Can L.L, Debbye Allen or anyone else who knows Maia’s potential reach out and touch a sistah please?

I remember watching her on “In the House” and totally loving the fact that a dark-skinned, beautiful, intelligent black actress was representing on the screen.

When oh when is crack going to be officially ruled as wak?

I pray she sees the light and gets the help she so desperately needs.


