GoodBye Patrick Swayze

Posted on September 16, 2009

1


S W E E T I E S

Why oh why must I have to write yet another R.I.P post.

patrick-swayzeAugust 18, 1952 – September 14, 2009

2009 has been such a Debbie Downer of a time for Hollywood.

The 80’s was my childhood . Dirty Dancing was the ULTIMATE movie.

What Swayze achieved with the success of “Dirty Dancing”  is what actors try their whole entire lives to accomplish. Not only was the acting on point that dude could really shake a tail feather! He really had some soul and skills to pull off some of those moves.What really breaks my heart is the fact his wife of 33 years Lisa Nieme is now without her partner. I wouldn’t wish that type of heartache on anyone. They met when he was 18 and she was 14. Lisa was a student of Swayze’s mother who was a dance teacher. How Shakespearian and romantic is that?

I recently saw this clip of the two of them dancing together at the 1994 World Music Awards.  If you somehow you were holding unto the lie that Dancing with the Stars was a good show; after you see this clip there is NO WAY that you can still hold such a sentiment. This was a prime example of when “stars” commit to the craft of dance and really out do themselves.

Although most think of “Dirty Dancing” and “Ghost” when they think of Patrick Swayze I have to think of one of my favorite films of all time “Too Wong Foo Thanks For Everything, Julie Newmar”. Patrick Swayze, Wesley Snipes, and John Leguizamo were the most believable drag queens I’ve seen in mainstream film.

200px-Towongfoo

In addition to his acting chops Swayze had a great sense of humor. According to Whoopi Goldberg last year on “The View” she talked about Patrick being a clown on the set of “Ghost”. She said he was constantly ad libbing, and trying to make her laugh during her psychic scenes by mooning her and saying outrageously funny things. I think the test of a true talent in acting is when your skills can take you across the board from drama to comedy.

Swayze cracked me up in this sketch from SNL with Chris Farely.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

57 is still so young.

Cancer is such a vile and horrendous disease. It is about time we kick it in the ASS. I am tired of it claiming the lives of so many, aren’t you?

REST IN PEACE

Posted in: Rest In Peace