PUMA PARTY @ Michael K in SOHO

Posted on November 13, 2009

0


SWEETIES

 

There are two major elements that are most important to me when it comes to fashion.

1) STYLE

2)COMFORT

A piece of clothing or an accessories can be super cute from head to toe but if it is NOT comfortable I am not buying it. Plain and simple!

I ♥ PUMA

because I believe they understand the receipe on delivering hot styles that are wearable, breathable, and comfortable.

I was excited to get an invitation to the PUMA party last night at Michael K in SOHO.

PumpaPartyInvite

Not only does PUMA continue to make great gear they really know how to throw a party!

Free drinks, DJ Hero, the sounds of DJ MONI in the background, and cool people. That is a formula for a guarunteed good time!

pumaknowshow2party

djmoni@pumaDJ MONI on the 1’s and 2’s!

It was obvious that the theme this season was 80’S THROWBACK!

There were Hi-Tops for DAYS. I am a 80’s baby and a total fan of the retro-kid style. Another aspect of PUMA that I love is their color combinations. There were some funky- cool colors combos going on.

pumaicecreamcolors

These Hi-Tops remind me of Cotton Candy.

pumahightops

TOTALLY 80’s ALL THE WAY! I love the braided rope belt  handle for the PUMA bag. It is so reminiscent of the gold-braided chains that RUN-DMC used to ROCK.

run-dmcRUN-DMC HOLDING it DOWN! RIP JAM MASTER JAY

menspumaThere is something so attractive about green accents on black

Although I am a fan of the brand I do have a bone to pick with PUMA.

They need to pay more attention and give more love to their female consumer. I am very dissappointed in the fact the styles for ♀ are under -developed. Every PUMA store I walk into I see a wall almost a mile long with countless styles for ♂ and then the wall for ♀ has a handful of styles. What’s up with that?

pumawallThis ♂’s wall went on forever!!!

It’s impossible for me to keep my opinions to myself so I had to make my voice heard. I had a lovely conversation over MOB-DEEP beats with Khairi from JOAONEWYORK.

Khairi is multi-talented and multi-faceted.

He is in charge of lifestyle marketing and interior archeticuture for PUMA. Most individuals who work for a brand shy away from answering hard hitting questions concerning product development. I can’t even count anymore how many times I have heard “why don’t you refer to our website” as a way to deflect from answering my questions. Khairi was unabashed and took my constructive criticism about the undervelopment of  ♀’s wear at PUMA seriously. He listened to my concerns and assured me that PUMA cares about every voice within their consumer base. Sometimes all that is necessary is a willing ear to listen. With luck I believe that PUMA will expand the ♀’s line. I believe that they need to sit down at the conception table and re-examine and re-evaluate who the PUMA ♀ is.

The PUMA ♀ has changed and evolved over the past couple of years. They still love their comfort but want to see the styles and trends of the runway mirrored in her kicks and clothing.

I would love to see PUMA branch out and collaborate with media publications to further target their female audience. Brands like NIKE, GAP and a host of other prominent brands have jumped on this bandwagon and it has majorily enhanced their image and sales have gone up despite the reccession. Some serious food for thought. When you break it down it is all about the $ at the end of the day.

It was a great event. PUMA should be proud of themselves for representing the brand in style. I’ll be watching to see if any of my suggestions become evident in the next collection. I’ll keep you all posted!





Posted in: Fashion News