Nightly Candy Fashion Review: Ann Taylor Sweater Dress

Posted on October 21, 2010

0


SWEETIES

It’s time for another FALL FASHION REVIEW!!

Fall Fashion Finds with Nightly Candy! Illustration by © 2010 Nana-Adwoa Ofori

Stylelist.com was so happy with my last review, they asked me to share my opinions regarding the Ann Taylor sweater dress.

 


Before this assignment I used to think of ANN TAYLOR as pearls, suits you would wear to a board meeting, and Condoleezza Rice. Even though I had my preconceived notions, I went to the store with an open mind.

 

Condoleezza, a bland suit, and pearls= ANN TAYLOR

 

Photo Credit: Linda Kramer Jenning

The iconic Coco Chanel once said “Every woman needs a little black dress.”

 

The Stupefying Coco Chanel

 

A black dress is one of the most versatile pieces you can have in your wardrobe.  When I first saw the merino wool dress on the rack it didn’t look like much, but looks can be deceiving. Once I got that sucker on I was pleasantly surprised.

Extra fine 100% merino wool has awesome stretch factor. The fabric embraces your curves and doesn’t cling to them. No matter what shape or size you are, you’ll feel comfortable in this dress.

It’s sophisticated with a dollop of sexy!

However there are some downsides to the Ann Taylor sweater dress.

1) I noticed some shedding just when trying it on. I don’t care how extra fine the wool is, it will shed.

2) The square neck is flattering but during the design process they were too lenient with the width of the neckline.

I don’t have the biggest chest in the world but I’ve got  ample C’s (a D on a good day). I noticed right away that any slight movement could cause a Tara Reid/Lindsay Lohan red carpet foible .

Then I had a brilliant idea to wear a crisp white shirt underneath.

Although I did like the way the dress looked with the shirt inside, it was not enough to convince me to buy it. If I am going to pay $128 bucks to Ann Taylor for a black dress it better get some decent rotation in my wardrobe.

The experience was not in vain. My trip to Ann Taylor allowed to me see the store in a different and better light.

 

 

 

 

