Too Little… Too Late for Chris Brown

Posted on July 22, 2009

9


Hiya Sweeties

I’m not going to say too much regarding the “apology” that Chris Brown’s legal team scripted for him to read the other day because I am SOOO OVER IT. I was over it 5 months ago to be honest.

chris_brown__pulling_stupid_face_300x400_060309_wennzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz… I’m BORED

Anyone who taps into half of their brain power could tell the apology was written by his legal team as he tried to muster his subpar acting skills to make it seem authentic.

This “apology” is came way too late. His legal team was insane for not advising him to come out right after the incident. I’m not standing in judgement of Chris Brown or anyone for that matter. I’m all about forgiveness and believe it is an important aspect of life. HOWEVER… when a happening like this occurs with a celebrity in the media I analyze it with a dichotomous lens.

There is Chris Brown the human being and Chris Brown the entertainer. It is up to Rihanna to decide whether or not she can forgive Chris for beating her.  When someone is an  entertainer who receives adoration, fame, and fortune from the public in my opinion it is a privilege and not a right. There are so many talented individuals in the world who are waiting on the edge of their seats to have a chance at stardom. When an entertainer commits a crime of this atrocious nature,  I believe it is time to have to have their dance card REVOKED.

Why should Chris Brown still be able to make millions and  regain his title of “role model”? Simply because he gave a scripted apology? I don’t think it should be that easy. It is not like he said he will undergo counseling and is making an effort to examine the reason why he would lash out violently at anyone in the first place.

I was listening to a caller on CNN’s Showbiz Tonight who called to express that she doesn’t believe for a minute that Chris Brown was truly sorry. She said when”my husband punched me in the face and broke my jaw he apologized and I forgave him. One month later he beat me so badly my right lung collapsed and he apologized and I forgave him. Three months later he beat me so badly he ruptured my spleen. He apologized for that too but that was the last time I stuck around to accept his apology.

I realize that that this is an isolated incident and it can’t be representative of every situation of abuse HOWEVER I’m taking her word for it.  I don’t know about you but experiencing abuse from a first hand perspective is not on my list of “must do’s”.

It’s sick and sad but I know Chris Brown will still have those sheep-like men and women who will keep his pockets fat. Many of those people have written into Nightly Candy  to communicate (as best as their illiterate minds can) their  psycho LOVE and SUPPORT of Brown.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but I have a strong feeling that the majority of chemically balanced individuals are done with this pathetic young man.

More from me soon..

Nighty Night